LEKKI BEACH UNVEILED

When I hear, think and "feel" LAGOS, the first thing that comes to mind is the fast-paced, money-chasing, traffic-boiling environment. And sincerely, I LOVE it....LEKKI BEACH

When I hear, think and “feel” LAGOS, the first thing that comes to mind is the fast-paced, money-chasing, traffic-boiling environment. And sincerely, I LOVE it….LOL. After the hustling and bustling, Lagosians love to relax and “enjoy life”. How they do that varies.

On this hot Sunday afternoon, I and a large group of friends decided to relax in one of the many beaches. As a young man who was born in the 80’s, there are some beaches where you don’t want to hangout with even your enemies for reasons best known to us. While “travelling” from the Lagos Mainland to Lagos Island in a convoy of 4 cars filled with young ladies and guys in their shorts and beach wears, I get this sudden phone call…. “We are going to LEKKI BEACH”. WHO GOES TO LEKKI BEACH?….my heart skipped and I was “Incredible-Hulk” vexed.

I parked my car just after Silverbird Galleria and I started venting about the fact that Lekki beach is messed up, dirty, un-safe, archaic, bla bla bla… (You are free to insert any other negative adjective). After the whole road-side drama, I got into my car and drove off still vexed by the way…

My pre-made idea of Lekki-Epe expressway was good tarred roads, beautiful houses/mansion, bla bla bla but If you reside at Jakande First gate then you need to relocate. . That road is the worst I have ever driven through in the whole of Lagos Island. if cars where humans, I wonder what my car would have said…

As we got close to the beach, I was still ranting about how much I hated that place. Then SUDDENLY *in D’banj’s voice* as I walked into the beach, I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was unbelievable…very unbelievable. I couldn’t believe my eyes at all. Clean relaxation spots… I and my friends were at @mambosbeachclub . They had volleyball, power bike ride, drinks, food and other fun stuffs.

I hope to go back there again. And by the way, the picture of the sunset was taken from Lekki beach. I couldn’t believe my eyes….

13 days to Christmas….

Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

